How to Make Hanging Paper Decorations

Lately I’ve been really into paper crafts. It probably sounds crazy, but I find it so satisfying to cut a beautiful shape out of the prettiest paper and use it for decorations. I made special hanging leaves for Thanksgiving, however this project was inspired by a paper heart trail that hangs beside the door in my apartment.

My aunt gave it to me for my birthday and I love it because it reminds me of my sister who has an obsession with paper hearts.

I asked my aunt how she made the hanging hearts and she shared her technique: she sewed the hearts together with a sewing machine, sewing the space in between the hearts onto parchment paper that she later peeled off.

Since I ran into some technical difficulties with my sewing machine, I used a different method for these paper leaves.

Here’s how you do it: First, go on a walk and find six perfect leaves in various shapes and sizes. Let them dry out over night on paper towels.

Trace their outlines onto cardstock and cut out the leaf templates. Next, trace the shapes onto patterned brown crafting paper and glittery bronze paper. Although I didn’t count them, I made a bunch of leaves probably about 50. Carefully cut them out.

Once all the leaves are cut, poke a small hole at the top or bottom of a leaf (be careful! you don’t want the paper to rip) with a large needle. Thread a 2-4 inch piece of brown string through the hole and tie a knot at the top. Poke another hole at the bottom of the leaf and thread another piece of string through it. Take a second leaf and poke a hole at the bottom, thread the string through and tie a knot; you are attaching the two leaves together. There should be at least 2 inches of slack in the thread, so the leaves can hang. Repeat with the leaves, threading 4-6 together to make a hanging leaf chain. To use as a decoration, hang from a chandelier or the wall.

I love these because they’re an easy and affordable decoration that can be translated into any holiday. Hearts for Valentine’s Day, shamrocks for St. Patrick’s Day, sombreros for Cinco de Mayo, etc. I’m thinking of making stars for Christmas!

One thought on “How to Make Hanging Paper Decorations

Leave a Reply

