How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

Lately, I’ve been eating a lot of hard boiled eggs. They’re a great source of protein and require virtually no cooking. However, it’s easy to screw up hard boiled eggs — and it’s so disappointing to cut into one and find a dull gray line, pale yellow yolk, and overly firm white. It’s much more rewarding to slice into a hard boiled egg and get a beautiful golden yellow yolk and soft delicate white.

If I plan on simply eating the hard boiled egg, I under cook it just a little, like the one shown here. It’s somewhere between a soft boiled egg and hard boiled egg. It’s a 7-minute egg. But if I plan on making deviled eggs or egg salad, I’ll cook the eggs for 3 more minutes. Here’s my fool-proof technique:

How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs, Every Time

  1. Place the eggs in a small saucepan and cover completely with cold water.
  2. Set the pan on the stove over a burner that’s at medium heat. (You want to bring the water to a boil slowly.)
  3. Once the water is boiling, remove the pot directly from heat and let the egg sit in the water for 7-10 minutes. 7 minutes for a just-cooked yellow yolk and 10 minutes for perfect hard boiled yolks.
  4. Rinse with cold water until cool enough to handle. Peel off the skin and enjoy, or refrigerate until ready to use.

2 thoughts on “How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs

  1. I am no longer certain the place you’re getting your information, but good topic.
    I must spend a while learning more or working out more.
    Thank you for great info I used to be in search of this info for my mission.

  2. My partner and I absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to be exactly what I’m looking for.
    can yoou offer guest writers to write conten for yourself?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on a lot of the subjects yyou write concerning here.
    Again, awesome website!

Leave a Reply

