Chicken Kebabs

On a recent hurried trip to the grocery store, I grabbed what I thought was a jar of sun-dried tomatoes. A somewhat polarizing ingredient, I happen to love the sun-dried tomatoes that come packed in olive oil. I think they are an excellent addition to salads, sandwiches, pasta (especially my favorite pasta recipe ever. Yes, it involves bacon!), sauces — just about any dish, really. That’s why I always stock my pantry with sun-dried tomatoes.

However, on this certain afternoon, I wasn’t really paying attention to the jar I grabbed and when I got home, I realized I had purchased sun-dried tomato pesto instead of plain old sun-dried tomatoes! While I’m a fan of certain canned and jarred items, pesto and other premade sauces are not one of the ingredients I naturally gravitate towards and I was disappointed. I didn’t want to throw the pesto away, so I’ve been incorporating it into a variety of dishes and guess what? Turns out I love sun-dried tomato pesto as much as I love regular sun-dried tomatoes!

This is a super easy chicken kebab recipe that is incredibly versatile. Use whatever vegetables you want and if you prefer boneless, skinless breasts, use those instead of thighs. Just don’t leave out the sun-dried tomato pesto! It really adds to the flavor and texture of the kebabs.

Chicken Kebabs

5 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 cup basil, julienned
2 lemons, juiced
2 heaping tablespoons sun-dried tomato pesto
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 lb boneless skinless chicken thighs, sliced into 1-inch pieces
2 zucchini, sliced into 1/2-inch rounds
8-12 shallots, separated into individual cloves, if some are large, slice into 1/2-inch chunks
4 large metal skewers OR 4 large wooden skewers, soaked in water for 20 minutes

  1. In a large glass bowl, whisk together the garlic, basil, lemon juice, sun-dried tomato pesto, and olive oil. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. Generously season the chicken pieces with salt and pepper.
  3. Add the chicken and vegetables to the marinade and toss to combine, making sure that each of the ingredients is coated in some of the oil and garlic mixture. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 3 hours and up to overnight.
  4. Prepare a charcoal grill to medium heat.
  5. Assemble the skewers: slide a piece of chicken onto a skewer, then follow with a slice of zucchini, and piece of shallot. Repeat, alternating chicken, zucchini, and shallot until all of the skewers are filled up and there are no more ingredients in the bowl.
  6. Cook on the prepared grill for 2-3 minutes per side, turning so that each side hits the grill, about 10-12 minutes total.
  7. Remove from heat and enjoy immediately.

Serve 4.

Leave a Reply

