How to Create a Vision Board

My oldest friend is named Emily. I’ve known her since the fourth grade. Emily’s a math whiz, an inquisitive listener, a professional hair stylist (although this isn’t her job title) and the first person to know about any teen craze be it the Hunger Games or Pretty Little Liars. A couple of years ago, I found out that the only reason we became friends was because our fourth grade teacher, Mrs. Kalar, asked Emily to befriend me. I had transferred from the catholic school that was across town to the public school that was around the corner from my house. The change was so traumatizing that, apparently, I was unable to make friends. Thank god for Emily! She’s been stuck with me ever since. Luckily, she loves martinis just as much as I do and doesn’t care if they’re made with gin or vodka.

Recently, Emily’s got me on this vision board kick; she came over for a working lunch and I insisted that we share a bottle of wine in the backyard with the fountain on. I was in a mood and she suggested that I make a vision board to help me hone in on my goals. According to Emily, a vision board is a visual representation of how you see your life in the future. Since I get panicky whenever anyone asks me “Where do you see yourself in five years?” I decided I had to create a vision board at once. I got so into it that I ended up making not one vision board, but two! The one pictured above represents my career and future self. The other board is more specific and simply represents my Fall look; it’s pictured below.

Both Emily and I agree that everyone should make vision boards. She even knows of multiple success stories β€” one of which is her own. Two years ago she created a vision board with future goals and now many of them have come to fruition! I’ll let you know when mine works out. Until then, here’s how you can create your own vision board.

1. Start with a stack of magazines. I used a variety of fashion and food magazines. Browse the pages and look for images and words that mean something to you. They can represent something meaningful or be a literal visual of something that you see yourself being/doing/owning in the future.

2. Rip or cut out the images. Emily says you need at least six. I went a little overboard and found a bunch!

3. Make a collage of the images. Arrange them in a pleasing manner. When I collage, I sort everything first and glue it all together after I’ve found a space for each picture I want to use. I gluestick the visuals onto a thin piece of cardboard or a hefty piece of cardstock.

4. The next step is essential. It can not be skipped. I repeat, you must do this step. Once you’ve created a vision board, you need to put it in a space where you will look at it often. This will ensure that you visualize and think about the goals. Emily says that your subconscious will take in the images and when it comes time to make life changing decisions, you’ll make the correct ones without even knowing you’re doing it! Cool, right? It seems a bit hippie dippie, but I’m giving it a try. My sister has always said, “if you put it out there to the universe, the universe will send it back to you,” and this is sort of along the same lines.

2 thoughts on “How to Create a Vision Board

  1. Hi Katie,

    Love your vision board and your story. Would appreciate it if you would give us feedback on our online vision board:

    http://www.dreamtimeline.com

    You can create vision boards and share with them with your friends, and would appreciate your input on how to make it better πŸ™‚

    Thanks,

    Andy
    Chief Dreamer @ Dream Timeline

Leave a Reply

