Cheers to 2013

IMG_0192You’re probably thinking it’s a little odd for me to be talking about my New Year’s resolutions on January 7th, a week after the first of the year, but let me explain. Ever since I spent the holidays in Spain 10 years ago, I’ve incorporated some of their traditions into my annual Christmas/New Year’s celebration. The first is that I always eat the 12 grapes on New Year’s Eve. This custom is a single girl’s best friend because it eliminates the dreaded New Year’s Eve kiss. Instead of kissing a significant other at midnight, the Spanish are too busy stuffing their mouths with grapes. It’s awesome! The second tradition that I’ve adopted is that the holiday season doesn’t end until after Los Reyes Magos, or the Three Kings Day, which falls on January 6th. I continue the Christmas spirit right on through January 7th, which is why I’m just now getting around to discussing my resolutions.

My one main goal for 2013 involves this website. That’s right, I resolve to update it at least 5 times each and every week. Other than that, I have a bunch of mores and lesses. At the start of a new year, I like to take the time not only to resolve to do something new and inspiring (like publish here daily), but also to just remember the things that are important to me.

Drink less. Exercise more.
Less meat. More vegetables.
Write more. Worry less.
Less clutter. More sophistication.
More doing. Less thinking.
More framed art. Less push-pinned posters.
Save more. Spend less.
More positivity. Less self put downs.
Less sparkling wine. More Champagne.
Dance more. Stress less.
More travel. Less wasting time.

Other mantras I’m focusing on: feel amazing, be happy, be now. The next level is something I’m applying to all aspects of my life, from my style to cooking. I basically want to take everything to the next level! Finally, in an attempt to be more zen and relaxed in the coming year, I’ve adapted this motto: all is serene in 2013. How about you? What are your resolutions?

Leave a Reply

