How to Make Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs

IMG_1906

I’ve always believed that the little things in life are important. Small luxuries, like a glass of sparkling Pinot Noir or a perfectly soft-boiled egg, make me happy on a regular basis. Speaking of soft-boiled eggs, I’m going through a serious soft-boiled egg phase and enjoy making them for breakfast at least once a week. I know it’s not good to have an egg everyday, but once or twice a week seems okay to me. Making a delicious soft-boiled egg is easy; having a soft-boiled egg cup to eat it out of is necessary to maximize soft-boiled-egg eating pleasure. For a full breakfast, I serve the egg with a small piece of fruit and a couple of toast soldiers or crostini for dipping.

How to Make Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs, Every Time

  1. Bring a small saucepan of water to a boil over high heat.
  2. When the water is at a rolling boil, turn down the heat to medium high.
  3. With a slotted spoon, carefully lower the egg into the water. You don’t want it to crack! Cook the egg for exactly 3 minutes. If it’s a super large egg, let it cook for 1 more minute.
  4. Remove the egg, dry with a towel, and transfer to the egg cup. With a knife or spoon, crack off the top of the egg. The egg whites should be set, but the yolks will still be runny.
  5. Season the egg generously with salt and freshly ground black pepper. Enjoy immediately with long, thin pieces of buttered toasted bread.

2 thoughts on “How to Make Perfect Soft Boiled Eggs

  1. And they eat it for breakfast on Downton Abbey! K made this for me one morning and I think it was my first soft boiled egg. I’m a convert. Be a dear and fetch me one, Mrs. Pattmore

Leave a Reply

