Inspiration Gathering: A Valentine’s Day Dinner

valdayinspirLast night I decided that I need to throw an intimate Valentine’s Day party. I sent out a simple text invitation (I just decided: I’m hosting a romantic Valentine’s Day dinner for the lovely single ladies in my life! Would you do me the honor of coming? Thursday, February 14. 7:30 pm) to five of my fabulous single friends and I plan on making a decadent, but affordable dinner. Although the menu isn’t finalized, I’m thinking lamb lollipops or some sort of crostini to start, followed by a two course meal at the table with green salad and heart-shaped beets, then Ina’s grown up macaroni and cheese with bacon as the main course. For dessert, chocolate cake!

As for the look, I’m using a beloved Dior scarf as the base of inspiration. I bought the silk square, that’s pictured above, 9 years ago as a Valentine’s Day gift for myself from El Corte Ingles in Cordoba. Elizabeth, who was my roommate at the time, dared me to wear it everyday for a month, so I did! With it’s deep pink, diamond, and gold color palette, it’s the perfect scarf to inspire a super girly Valentine’s Day table.

I’m also inspired by the table that Aaron Hartselle created for Rue, the color schemes at Design Seeds, and this wedding from Martha Stewart. Metallic gold heart-shaped balloons for each chair are a must. They will act as party favors when the night is over. Hopefully the girls will be like this guy and wander around town with them! Amber Crackle champagne flutes will add an element of sophistication and sheer pink napkins will make a colorful statement as placemats. Lots of twinkling candles and beautiful low pink flower arrangements are obvious necessities. Now that the tablescape is figured out, I’m off to plan the menu.

Leave a Reply

