Hot Virginia Dip

IMG_2104I’ve never met a hot, gooey, cheese-filled dip that I didn’t like and recently my dear friend Anne introduced me to her favorite dip ever, hot Virginia dip. Her mom and sister have been making it for years and it’s addictive and sinfully good. Naturally, I had to ask Anne for the recipe.

When she told me what was in it, I was somewhat surprised. The best hot cheese dips are always filled with horrible ingredients, so I knew there was bound to be tons of mayonnaise or cream cheese or sour cream. What I wasn’t expecting was dried beef. To be honest, I don’t really know what dried beef is. I don’t really know what aisle of the grocery store it can be found at either. I’m also not sure if the dip has origins in Virginia or if a person named Virginia created it.

The only thing I am certain of is that it’s one delicious dip. It would be the perfect thing to serve at an Oscars viewing party this weekend.

Hot Virginia Dip

1 cup chopped pecans
2 teaspoons butter
16 ounces cream cheese
4 tablespoons milk
5 ounces of minced dried beef (Anne says you can find it at Safeway in the canned food section)
1 teaspoon garlic salt
1 cup sour cream
4 teaspoons minced onion
Triscuits, for serving.

  1. Preheat the oven to 350°F.
  2. In a medium sauté pan, cook the pecans in the butter over medium high heat, stirring to toss all of the pecans with butter, until the pecans are toasted and fragrant, 3-5 minutes.
  3. In a large bowl, thoroughly mix the remaining ingredients until the mixture is smooth. Transfer the dip to an oven safe serving dish.
  4. Cover with the buttered toasted pecans and place in the oven. Bake for 20 minutes until the dip is hot and bubbling. Serve with triscuits.

Makes about 3.5 cups.

Leave a Reply

