Inspiration Gathering: Emily’s Bridal Shower

emshowerinspirOver the next couple of months, I’m going to be planning a lot of parties! Besides the normal seasonal festivities like Butter & Eggs Day, Cinco de Mayo and the start of summer, there are so many other reasons to celebrate: my sister’s move back to America, a handful of important birthdays, and my oldest friend Emily’s wedding.

A year ago I hosted Emily’s engagement party and now I’m gearing up to help put on her bridal shower. Although the party isn’t until the second weekend in June, I’m making and sending the invitations, so it’s time to get things started with an inspiration board.

Melissa, another friend, is throwing the shower in her gorgeous Marin backyard. The garden will be in full bloom and the view is stunning, so we’ve decided to keep things simple with an all white color palette. The lack of color also contrasts with Emily’s wedding, which is going to be very bright and festive. I would love for everyone to wrap their presents in white paper, but am not sure how to word this on the invitation. I believe we’re going to hang white paper hearts from the trees and since I’m obsessed with balloons right now, I hope to incorporate big white ones in some way or another.

We haven’t come up with the menu yet, but know that it will be delicious and girly finger food with an assortment of mini desserts, like these little cakes. The bride requested that we do some appetizers with a fruit and cheese theme, so maybe fig and gorgonzola bites or strawberry and goat cheese crostini? Emily’s favorite juice is chinola, or passion fruit, thus, the cocktail must have passion fruit in it.

Besides opening presents, we’ll have one group activity in the form of a crafty DIY. We’ll be making Mexican papel picado — tissue paper cut outs that will be used as decorations at the wedding. Fun, right? As for the aforementioned invitation, I got a new stamp, want to use shades of white, and like this text. Once I make it, I’ll share the how-to here, so stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

