Orange Pinot Grigio Fizz

IMG_3696I’m not afraid to admit that I love wine spritzers. I think I’m a fan because of my preference for all things Spanish. A mixture of red wine and casera (soda water), the tinto de verano is the ultimate wine spritzer.  I don’t know why in general, wine spritzers have a bad rap. When well made, a wine spritzer is fruity, refreshing, and the perfect thing to drink on a hot summer day.

A colleague sent me this recipe for a wine spritzer with Campari and I was immediately intrigued. The original recipe calls for blood oranges, but it’s a little too late in the year to find them, so I used regular oranges instead. I also cut back on the simple syrup because I didn’t want the cocktail to be too sweet. The thing I love about this drink is that it elevates the wine spritzer to another level. The Campari gives it mixology cred and the color just screams summer.

Orange Pinot Grigio Fizz
by Krista Simmons

¾ cup (6 ounces) Pinot Grigio
1 ounce freshly squeezed orange juice
1 ounce Campari
½ – 1 ounce simple syrup, depending on how sweet you like your beverages
1 ½ ounces soda water
Orange wheels to garnish

  1. Fill a large wine glass or Mason jar with ice, then add all of the measured ingredients, except for the soda water.
  2. Stir the ingredients with a bar spoon. Once incorporated, finish with the soda water.
  3. Garnish with wheels of freshly sliced oranges and enjoy.

Makes 1 large cocktail.
IMG_3699

Leave a Reply

