My Favorite Things May 2013

IMG_3758May was a super busy month and I spent three fabulous weekends away. I’m thinking that the rest of the summer will be the same with lots of traveling, lots of busy-ness, and lots of fun occurring all at once. It’s hard to believe that it’s already June and almost half the year has gone by! Here are the things I have truly enjoyed over the past thirty-onederful days.

IMG_3746How to Be Your Own Best Friend. I’ve always loved self-help books and this one, by Mildred Newman and Bernard Berkowitz, is my new favorite. It’s a quick and easy read with lots of fascinating tips. Mainly it’s all about being happy and explains that happiness is something that you do, not something that happens to you. A few quotes: “We are responsible for our own good time.” “It is up to us to give ourselves recognition.” “Have some compassion for yourself.”

IMG_3754Mint Tie-Dye Pants. I found these super tight pants, that are cropped at the ankle, for a steal at Target. I plan on living in them this summer!

IMG_1423Relaxing by Water. It’s my summer goal to get in one day of rest and relaxation by a body of water every weekend. In May, I enjoyed the beach at Santa Monica, Clear Lake, my grandfather’s pool, and the pool at the Club in Arnold. The sun, swimming, and down time (preferably with a good book or new magazine) are a part of my ‘be happy’ plan.

IMG_3751Vintage Picnic Basket. Picnics are so hot right now and imagine my delight when I found this amazing picnic basket buried in a closet at the cabin! It’s needs a new liner, but it’s classic and chic and perfect for impromptu city picnicking.

IMG_3745Chicken Vignette. A couple of years ago I became obsessed with this article on The Atlantic that featured fancy chickens. Julia got me the book for my last birthday and I finally ripped it up and framed my favorite images. Anne helped me hang them and now my kitchen is decorated with this fabulous chicken vignette!

2 thoughts on “My Favorite Things May 2013

  1. With havin a great deal content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement? My weblog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it seems a great deal of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any techniques to help stop content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Unfortunately, this is just something that happens. When it does, I reach out to the person who has plagiarized me and ask them to credit me for the image, idea, or content. Usually people are pretty good about it. I wish you the best of luck!

Leave a Reply

