Inspiration Gathering: My Birthday Dinner

mybirthdaydin1Confession: I’ve spent the last four hours thinking about my upcoming birthday and I’ve decided that I can’t let it pass by without hosting a dinner party! I’m going to have a dinner for 10 at my place. Although I haven’t figured out the guest list, I do know what I’m envisioning for the event. My favorite people, a lovely and leisurely meal, and a beautiful setting.

For some reason, I find this pretty Lela Rose bridesmaid dress to be inspiring of the decor. Pale pink, gold, and rose gold polka dots will play a role in the party’s look. Homemade orecchiette (there’s a recipe in the September issue of Bon Appétit!), pink champagne, and chocolate cake are definitely on the menu.

mybirthdaydin1.5I’m making embossed invites with different sized polka dots following a technique  I found on Martha Stewart that uses corks and pencil erasers to make the dots. The table will have tons of low pink flowers in gold mason jars and lots of glittering candles. The model Karlie Kloss recently celebrated her birthday and I love this pic of her posing with a golden K balloon. To commemorate the occasion, I’m going to take photos of each of my guests posing with the K balloon! Lastly, I’m going to transform my studio by hanging streamers and garlands across the walls like Tiffani Pratt did in this party shoot for Rue. Fun, right?! Stay tuned for more details on the party!

mybirthdaydin2

One thought on “Inspiration Gathering: My Birthday Dinner

Leave a Reply

