Whipped Feta and Roasted Red Pepper Crostini

photo 2My 2013 holiday season officially started on Sunday night! I attended an awesome Friendsgiving complete with two turkeys, a pilgrim-themed art project, cream cheese mashed potatoes, and sparkling apple cider sangria. And with things shifting into full gear this weekend (it’s my tailgate on Saturday, a welcome to America dinner for my sister’s Haitian friend on Sunday, and Thanksgiving on Thursday), it’s safe to say the holidays are here and I’m going to be super busy!

Having a few quick and easy appetizers in your back pocket is a must for this time of year. While I always try and stock my pantry with the makings for a delicious spread (cheese, salami, olives, and nuts), during the holidays, I like to take it one step further and throw together a tasty and fast crostini. As you know, I’m crazy for crostini, and this recipe is my latest favorite. With a food processor it comes together in minutes. Ricotta or goat cheese can be substituted for the feta.

Whipped Feta and Roasted Red Pepper Crostini

6 ounces good feta, crumbled
2 ounces cream
1/4 cup good olive oil, divided
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
Roasted red peppers sliced
1 baguette of crostini, for serving
2 tablespoons toasted slivered almonds
1 tablespoon finely chopped parsley

  1. Place the feta and cream in the bowl of a food processor fitted with the steel blade. Pulse until the cheeses are mixed.
  2. Add 1/4 cup of the olive oil, the lemon juice, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and process until smooth.
  3. To assemble, spread each slice of crostini with a generous amount of whipped feta. Top with roasted red pepper. Sprinkle with slivered almonds, parsley, salt and pepper and enjoy.

Makes 24-30 bites.

photo 4

Leave a comment