10 Ways to Have Christmas Fun

IMG_2927When my sister and I were little, every December we would make a list of things we wanted to do that celebrated the holidays. This list was always titled something like Katie and Tricia’s December of Christmas Fun and consisted of quintessential seasonal to dos like go ice skating, drink hot cocoa, and wrap presents. Recently, I was cleaning out an old desk at my parents’ house and I found one of our lists from more than 15 years ago.

I love stumbling across old life artifacts like this list. Although it made me a little sad (because it mentioned my grandmother who is no longer with us), it mostly made me happy. My enthusiasm for the holidays has always been childlike and it was great to see that over the years, this has not changed.

The list was so fabulously nostalgic that I decided to bring back the concept of Christmas fun. I’ve vowed to do something spirited every day from now until 2014, be it writing Be Merry on the chalk board in my kitchen or making my brother and I special champagne cocktails or painting my nails glittery red. I suggest you do the same! Need some inspiration? Here’s 10 ways to have a little Christmas fun.

IMG_29291. Decorate your house. If you have a large space, a Christmas tree is a must. If your space is smaller (like my studio apartment), decorate with twinkling lights, tons of shiny tinsel, and poinsettias from a local grocer. I got mine at Safeway for $7 each!

2. Drink egg nog. It’s so bad for you, but it’s so good! Especially when mixed with brandy or bourbon or something potently alcoholic.

3. Make Christmas cookies. Chocolate chip, peanut butter, gingersnap, sugar — the possibilities are endless!

4. Host a party. The holidays are a great excuse to throw a party and there’s so many different kinds of events to consider: ugly sweater, Santacon, boozy brunch, Christmas cocktail, holiday dinner, white elephant, Grinch viewing, wreath making crafternoon. I could go on and on, but I think you get the idea.

IMG_05655. Listen to Christmas music. Yes, it’s cheesy, but I can’t lie: belting Wham’s Last Christmas or Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas is You at the top of your lungs is fun.

6. Watch your favorite Christmas movie. On my to view list: Love Actually, Little Women, and The Holiday.

7. Send Christmas cards. To friends or family. To colleagues or people you admire. Write a heartfelt note and send them off.

8. Get dressed up in your holiday best and go out for a night on the town. Drink Champagne. Dance on the table. Have that shot of cranberry-infused tequila. Flirt shamelessly. During the holidays everything is acceptable!

9. Tell everyone you see Happy Holidays. If you’re competitive, turn things into a competition. Every year, when my best friend and I are together, we have a contest to see who can say happy holidays quickest. It’s silly, but always makes us laugh.

10. Be kind. Give more hugs. Smile and say hi. Tis the season of giving and giving kindness is free!
IMG_0593

2 thoughts on “10 Ways to Have Christmas Fun

Leave a Reply

