Kale Grilled Cheese

IMG_0024-1.JPG
Since I spend plenty of time cooking for other people at work, I sometimes arrive home in the evening and wish that someone was cooking for me. When this happens, I make something that is quick and easy — a dish that is simpler than pasta, like scrambled eggs or a pita pizza. If the resulting meal happens to be incredibly delicious and I happen to have the ingredients in large quantity, I end up making it over and over again.

I hate to admit it, but I’ve had this kale grilled cheese four times in the last week! The first time I threw it together and I didn’t think it would be anything special. A mediocre grilled cheese perhaps, but nothing to praise on this website. However, after the first bite, I was surprised and happy. It was way more scrumptious than I had imagined. The bitterness of the kale is balanced by the sweetness of the sun-dried tomatoes; the creaminess of the cheese balanced by the heartiness of the bread.

It ended up being so satisfying that I immediately wrote out the recipe and vowed to make it again the next day. And the next and the next. This recipe makes one sandwich, but it’s not rocket science, so increase the amount of cheese, kale, tomatoes, and bread to make more sandwiches. Let me know if you enjoyed it as much as I did!

IMG_0025-0.JPG
Kale Grilled Cheese

2/3 heaping cup of good white melting cheese (Monterey Jack, havarti, manchego, mozzarella, etc.), grated
2/3 heaping cup of small kale pieces
2 tablespoons minced sun-dried tomatoes
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon of butter, room temperature
2 slices whole wheat bread

1. In a medium bowl combine the grated cheese, kale pieces, and sun-dried tomatoes. Toss everything to mix well. Season with salt and freshly ground black pepper.

2. Spread butter on each slice of bread on one side.

3. Place one slice of bread, butter side down in a small skillet. Top with all of the cheese and kale mixture. It will be heaping and seem like way to much, but cheese melts and kale wilts, so bare with me. (See photo below.) Top with the other slice of bread, butter side out. Press to flatten with a spatula.

4. Place the skillet over a burner set to medium low heat. Cover the skillet and sandwich with a lid. Cook for 4 minutes. Remove the lid and press down on the sandwich. Flip the sandwich and cook, covered, for 5 minutes taking care not to burn the bread. Remove the lid, press sandwich down and flip. Cook, covered for 2 more minutes on this side. At this point the cheese should be perfectly melty and the kale wilted. Set aside to rest for 2 minutes, then slice in half on the diagonal and enjoy immediately.

Makes 1 sandwich.

IMG_2014-1.JPG

One thought on “Kale Grilled Cheese

Leave a Reply

