Lemon Drops

IMG_0040 My grandfather’s Meyer lemon tree is filled with luscious juicy, bright yellow oval jewels, so I picked a bunch and brought them home with me. Although I made a lemon tart and served it to my friends as dessert at my last dinner party, the best use of hand-picked, fresh-squeezed lemon juice is to make a cocktail. There’s literally hundreds of libation recipes that use lemon juice, from Sidecars to Bee’s Knees, but lately, I’ve been nostalgic for the life of my early twenties. I can’t stop listening to Fito y los Fitipaldis and I’ve been secretly enjoying Lemon Drops with my hand-picked, fresh-squeezed lemon juice. Looks like my secret is out! Yes, it’s a very girlie vodka cocktail that I guzzled in college, but it’s actually a refreshing and lovely libation. Ditch the sugared rim and serve in a Champagne coupe and all of a sudden a Lemon Drop makes perfect sense for sipping in your early thirties. Don’t believe me? I dare you to make this cocktail!

Lemon Drops

2 parts vodka
1 part fresh-squeezed lemon juice
1/2 part simple syrup

Combine the vodka, lemon juice, and simple syrup in a cocktail shaker. Add ice and shake hard for at least 45 seconds. Strain into a chilled Champagne coupe and enjoy immediately. This recipe can be made in a batch or as a single serving.

Leave a Reply

