My Favorite Things March 2014

IMG_3815Is a quarter of the year already over? It seems as if the days are flying by! And yet, I still find time to stop and smell the roses. I feel so blessed to be busy, happy, and hosting tons of parties. Although I have not been regularly blogging recently, it is my goal for April to do so faithfully. Here are some things that I’ve absolutely loved over the past thirty wonderful days.

IMG_3614My best gal pals! At the start of the month, eight of my favorite ladies joined me at my cabin for a weekend of good eats and fabulous wine. The best thing was the amazing company.

IMG_3747Grilling. Normally I let my dad do all of the grilling, but this spring and summer, I’ve decided to master the grill. Think girl meets grill!

IMG_3806Laura Werlin‘s cheese seminar at the Artisan Cheese Festival. It doesn’t get any better than attending a food festival in your home town! The 8th annual Artisan Cheese Festival was in Petaluma around the corner from my parents’ house. I went to Laura Werlin’s Melt! seminar where I got to taste four different dishes, two grilled cheese sandwiches and two macaroni and cheeses, and each cheese that was used as an ingredient in the various dishes. What with the wine pairings and Laura’s insightful tips, it was very cool!

IMG_3816The flower arrangements at my half birthday dinner. When I picked out pale pink roses, lavender stock, and yellow carnations at Safeway, I was a little worried I wouldn’t be able to make the bouquets work. But I threw in some greenery harvested from my parents’ backyard and voila! Gorgeous arrangements I am still dreaming about.

IMG_3853Lillet-gin cocktail. I served this Martha Stewart concoction at my half birthday dinner and I’ve been making and loving it since. It’s a simple, but sublime combination of gin (I used Plymouth), Lillet, and fresh-squeezed grapefruit juice.

Lastly, I would like to wish one of my favorite people, my little sister, a very special happy birthday! Trish cheers to another year! IMG_8032

One thought on “My Favorite Things March 2014

Leave a comment